German Contact Internal / Service Sitemap Staff Search Emergency Data Privacy Home
Home About Research Data M.Sc. / PhD Courses and Seminars Jobs Publications University of Bremen

IUP Staff 2019

History of the IUP Bremen

The focus of our work in environmental physics is the investigation of the atmosphere, the cryosphere, and the oceans of the earth. Part of the IUP is the IFE (Institut für Fernerkundung) which was established to handle our longer-term satellite projects. In november 2003, the 10th anniversary of the institute was celebrated, and the inauguration of our new building at the same time.

Students in general physics have the possibility to specialize in environmental physics. A variety of courses is offered at the IUP, in cooperation with our colleagues from the Alfred-Wegener-Institut of Polar Research and Oceanography (AWI) in Bremerhaven, about 50 km from Bremen.

In environmental physics, our students have the possibility to get solid knowledge about the oceans, the atmosphere, and in terrestrial environmental research. In contrast to other german universities, the environmental physics in Bremen is fully integrated into the general physics. Our students many times have even been taking part in interesting worldwide expeditions !

Especially for international students, a Master of Science (M. Sc.) course with four semestres duration was established. All classes are in english.

More than 100 p.h.d. students and postdocs are working at the IUP. We have state-of-the art lab equipment, and high computational capacity, which is essential for the data processing of our satellite projects. In addition to an IBM EnterpriseServer (eServer P690-Regatta with 32 high-performance power CPUs) and a cluster of workstations, also personal computers (pc´s) are used.

Our laboratory equipment includes devices for gas cromatography and mass spectrometry. We also use optical- and mircrowave spectrometers, some of which are our own development and construction.

Many of our scientific projects are using external platforms like the research vessel "Polarstern", aircrafts, stratospheric balloons, and ground based stations all around the world, from the tropics to the poles. Most important tools for our work are the satellite experiments like SCIAMACHY, which was developed by IUP members.

In addition to the scientific working groups, we have special teams for the maintenance and administration of our computational devices, networks and data bases. Other teams are developing techincal innovations for our worldwide expeditions, and for laboratory use at the IUP.

Your Career:
All projects are executed in cooperation with our worldwide (and national) partner institutes, which makes it easy to get international contacts. Our graduates find open doors and interesting work worldwide in leading science or industry organisations. Have a look at vacant positions at the IUP here.

IUP Team 2019

Number Name
1 John Burrows
2 Monika Rhein
3 Mihalis Vrekoussis
4 Justus Notholt
5 Sabine Packeiser-Pohl
6 Tina Hilbig
7 Kezia Lange
8 Evgenia Galytska
9 Jakob Borchardt
10 Kai Krause
11 Christian Melsheimer
12 Andrea Orfanoz-Cheuquelaf
13 Midhun George
14 Heiko Schellhorn
15 Stefan No l
16 Jürgen Sültenfuß
17 Konstantin Gerilowski
18 Philipp Richter
19 Alexei Rozanov
20 Ilias Bougoudis
21 Katja Weigel
22 Tingting Zhu
23 Bettina Gier
24 Oliver Schneising-Weigel
25 Yangzhuoran Liu
26 Wilke Thomssen
27 Anke Werner
28 Andreas Meier
29 Raul Scarlat
30 Junshen Lu
31 Anna Beata Kalisz Hedegaard
32 Hamoun Heidari Bateni
33 Lisa Behrens
34 Nora Mettig
35 Kristina Belinska
36 Nicole Bammann
37 Anette Ladtstätter-Weißenmayer
38 Marco Vountas
39 Kai-Uwe Eichmann
40 Reiner Steinfeldt
41 Maren Walter
42 Marcus Huntemann
43 Wolfgang Böke
44 Jörg Schulenberg
45 Volker Hormann
46 Anne Blechschmidt
47 Harry Küllmann
48 Heinrich Bovensmann
49 Christine Weinzierl
50 Denise Müller-Dum
51 Edda Thoma
52 Andreas Richter
53 Andreas Hilboll
54 Thorsten Warneke
55 Klaus Bramstedt
56 Christian Mertens
57 Aleksei Buinyi
58 Mark Weber
59 Julia Oelker
60 Sven Krautwurst
61 Sabine Hillmann
62 Janna Köhler
63 Valentin Ludwig
64 Maria Dolores Andrés Hernández
65 Anja Gatzka
66 Maximilian Reuter
67 Leonardo Alvarado
68 Michael Buchwitz
69 Nils Hase
70 Mathias Palm
71 Sara-Lena Meyer
72 Heiko Schröter
73 Caty Backmeyer
74 Christine Pohl
75 Catalin Patilea
76 Georg Heygster
77 Rasmus Nüß
78 Yu Zhang
79 Marius Dan
80 Gunnar Spreen
81 Stephanie Drath
82 Elizaveta Malinina
83 Linlu Mei
84 Dmitrii Murashkin
85 Carlo Arosio
86 Nikolaos Daskalakis
87 Victor Gorshelev
88 Matthias Buschmann
89 Christof Petri
90 Rafaella Chiarella
91 Holger Winkler
92 Tim Bösch